MNHA – NATIONAL MUSEUM OF HISTORY AND ART

In the heart of the old town, a central building (2002) and three ancient houses are home to the national archaeological, historical and artistic collections of Luxembourg. Presented in the form of various newly designed thematic tours, they are a cultural attraction not to be missed. Diverse temporary exhibitions complete the offer.

Permanent Collections

Since 2015, the MNHA offers five thematic tours:

Prologue - A short overview of the history of the country and the museum from 1839 to the present day.

Archaeology - The highlights of Luxembourg's archaeological heritage, from prehistoric times to the end of the Middle Ages.

Arts and Crafts - From Mansfeld to Design: Habitat and Applied Arts in Luxembourg from the Renaissance to the 21st Century.

Fine Arts - The collections of ancient art (12th-19th century), modern and contemporary art (20th-21st century) as well as Luxembourgish art (17th-21st century).

Coins and Medals - The monetary and economic history of our regions from Antiquity to the present day.

Temporary Exhibitions

Supports/Surfaces: Viallat & Saytour. Modern french painting from the MNHA
Until 24 October 2021

One of the strengths of the MNHA’s collection of international art is the ensemble of paintings by Supports/Surfaces, an artistic movement from 1966-1972 which helped to shape contemporary French art, both in painting and sculpture.

The MNHA holds one of the most important public collections of Supports Surfaces at European level. It was carefully built up over many years, and is still actively strengthened with donations and purchases. In this exhibition important acquisitions from recent years are shown, focusing on works by two founding members of the Supports/Surfaces movement: Patrick Saytour (b.1935) and Claude Viallat (b.1936).

 

Robert Brandy. A personal retrospective on a 50-year career

Until 28 November 2021

With this exhibition, the MNHA invites visitors to explore half a century of work by this popular and well-known Luxembourg artist. In his early career, Brandy quickly made a name for himself in the art world, not least because he was determined to achieve something almost unheard of in 1970s Luxembourg: to make his passion his profession and make a living from his art in his own country. Establishing himself as an independent self-employed artist turned him into something of a renowned figure and, without Brandy even knowing it, he was to pave the way for other artists to follow in his footsteps. The purpose of this MNHA exhibition is two-fold: Firstly, it showcases Brandy’s long career (1971-2021) through a selection of works – some of them previously unseen by the public – which demonstrates how his artistic expression has developed over time. Visitors can explore how his career has progressed and how his artistic language has evolved from his early career to the present day. Secondly, the exhibition highlights Brandy’s role in Luxembourg’s art history as a pioneer in promoting art as a freelance occupation at a pivotal moment in the development of the country’s arts sector.

 

Rethinking Landscape – 8th European Month of Photography 

Until 17 October 2021

Landscape representations have a long and rich history in art. With the development of the Land Art movement, at the beginning of the 1970s, landscape scenes radically changed paradigm. By becoming a medium, the landscape is no longer used by the artist as a subject in itself, but is physically experienced as part of the artistic practice. Through new contemporary representations of the analog and digital image, young European photographers nowadays raise awareness of the increasingly unbalanced relationship between man and nature in their work. Rethinking Landscape presents five stances of artists taking a new photographic look at landscape representation and offering new aesthetic approaches, varying between fiction, sublimation and distancing

Architecture

In 1922, the Luxembourg State acquired the Collart-de-Scherf house on the Fish Market to accommodate the national collections. However, the transformations only advanced slowly and the museum, that was to be inaugurated in 1939, was only able to open its doors after the War, in 1945. Fifty years later, the first edition of Luxembourg, European Capital of Culture, clearly demonstrated that the central building of the Museum had become too small to allow its activities and its collections to develop further. The MNHA restructuring project was then entrusted to the Fonds de rénovation de la Vieille Ville. Positioned at the heart of the historic center in an UNESCO-classified area, the extension of the museum, entrusted to the architect Christian Bauer and associates, turned out to be a difficult task. After extensive renovations, the new central building was finally inaugurated in 2002. Its premises now meet contemporary requirements and double the museum's exhibition space, which thus increases from 1900 m2 to 4300 m2, the new additional exhibition rooms being installed under the refurbished square of the fish market. Three patrician houses located opposite the museum in the Wiltheim street, acquired and fitted out in the 1960s and 1970s, were excluded from the 2002 restructuring project. The Wiltheim Wing was renovated from 2012 to 2014, eventually offering around 1,500 m2 of additional exhibition space as well as two new workshops for the museum's educational service. A two-level, fully glazed footbridge now connects the central building to the Wiltheim Wing and allows a significant improvement in circulation and visitor flow.

 

Sunday: 10:00-18:00
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10:00-18:00
Wednesday: 10:00-18:00
Thursday: 10:00-20:00
Friday: 10:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Adults
  • 5.00EUR
    Reduced
  • 0.00EUR
    Permanent exhibition
  • 0.00EUR
    Thursdays, 17:00-20:00
 

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°9 / N°14 / N°20 (Um Bock), N°19 / N°31 (Gruef/Kasinosgaass)

  • Vel'OH!

    N°14 (Knuedler), N°15 (Theater Plaz)

  • Car

    Parking Théâtre

Programme at National Museum of History and Art

MUSÉE NATIONAL D'HISTOIRE ET D'ART

Au cœur de la vielle ville, un bâtiment central (2002) et trois maisons anciennes accueillent les collections nationales archéologiques, historiques et artistiques du Luxembourg. Nouvellement aménagées en parcours thématiques, elles constituent une attraction culturelle incontournable. Des expositions temporaires variées complètent l’offre.

Collections permanentes

Depuis 2015, le MNHA propose cinq parcours thématiques :

Prologue – Un raccourci de l’histoire du pays et du musée depuis 1839 à nos jours.

Archéologie – Les fleurons du patrimoine archéologique luxembourgeois, de la préhistoire à la fin du Moyen Âge.

Arts décoratifs et populaires – De Mansfeld au Design : les manières d’habiter et les arts appliqués au Luxembourg de la Renaissance au 21e siècle.

Beaux-Arts Les collections d’art ancien (12e-19e siècle), d’art moderne et contemporain (20e-21e siècle) ainsi que d’art luxembourgeois (17e-21e siècle).

Cabinet des médailles – L’histoire monétaire et économique de nos régions de l’Antiquité à nos jours.

Expositions temporaires

Supports/Surfaces: Viallat & Saytour Peinture française moderne du MNHA
Jusqu’au 24 octobre 2021

L’une des forces de la collection d’art international du MNHA est l’ensemble des peintures de Supports/Surfaces, un mouvement artistique qui a contribué entre 1966 et 1972 à façonner l’art français contemporain, tant en peinture qu’en sculpture. En effet, le MNHA possède l’une des plus importantes collections publiques de Supports/Surfaces d'Europe. Elle a été soigneusement constituée au fil des ans et est toujours consolidée par des dons et des achats. Notre exposition présente d’importantes acquisitions effectuées ces dernières années, en mettant l’accent sur les oeuvres de deux membres fondateurs du mouvement Supports/Surfaces: Patrick Saytour (né en 1935) et Claude Viallat (né en 1936).

 

Robert Brandy face à lui-même. 50 ans de carrière

Jusqu’au 28 novembre 2021

Avec cette exposition, le MNHA propose de parcourir un demi-siècle de création d’un artiste luxembourgeois aussi populaire que reconnu. Au début de sa carrière, Brandy s’est rapidement fait un nom dans le monde de l’art grâce à une détermination rare au Luxembourg dans les années 1970: faire de sa passion sa profession et vivre de son art dans son pays. En adoptant cette posture de l’artiste libre et indépendant, Brandy va créer un mythe autour de lui et sans le savoir ouvrir la voie à d’autres artistes. L’exposition au MNHA met en lumière deux volets: d’une part, l’étendue de la carrière de Brandy (1971-2021) à travers une sélection d’œuvres représentatives de l’évolution de son expression artistique et en partie inédites. Il sera ainsi possible de suivre sa démarche et de comprendre l’évolution de son langage plastique depuis ses débuts jusqu’à nos jours. D’autre part, il s’agit d’illustrer le rôle de Brandy dans l’histoire de l’art du Luxembourg comme un des pionniers de la professionnalisation de l’artiste indépendant à un moment crucial pour le développement du secteur artistique.

 

Rethinking Landscape – 8th European Month of Photography 

Jusqu’au 17 octobre 2021

Les représentations paysagères ont une longue et riche tradition dans l’histoire de l’art. Avec le Land art, au début des années 1970, celles-ci ont radicalement changé de paradigme. En dépassant le sujet pour devenir support, le paysage en tant que représentation s’est ouvert aussi à l’expérience esthétique et à l’expérimentation artistique. Aujourd’hui, la jeune photographie européenne approfondit cette prise de conscience du rapport de plus en plus déséquilibré entre l’homme et la nature à travers de nouvelles visions contemporaines de l’image analogique et numérique. Rethinking Landscape (Repenser le paysage) propose cinq postures d’artistes portant un nouveau regard photographique sur les représentations du paysage et montrant de nouvelles approches esthétiques très variées entre fiction, sublimation et distanciation.

Architecture

En 1922, l’Etat acquiert place du Marché-aux-Poissons la Maison Collart-de-Scherf pour y abriter les collections nationales. Mais les transformations sont lentes et le musée, en passe d’être inauguré en 1939, n’ouvrira ses portes qu’après-Guerre, en 1945. Cinquante ans plus tard, la première édition de Luxembourg, capitale européenne de la Culture, démontre à l'évidence que le bâtiment central du Musée est devenu trop exigu pour y déployer ses activités et ses collections. Le projet de restructuration du MNHA est alors confié au Fonds de rénovation de la Vieille Ville. L’extension du musée, situé au cœur du centre historique qui plus est dans un quartier classé par l’UNESCO, est confiée à l’architecte Christian Bauer et associés et s'avère difficile. Après des travaux de grande envergure, le nouveau bâtiment central est finalement inauguré en 2002. Ses espaces répondent aux exigences contemporaines et doublent la surface d'exposition du musée, qui passe ainsi de 1900 m2 à 4300 m2, les nouvelles salles d'exposition supplémentaires étant en grande partie installées sous la place réaménagée du Marché-aux-Poissons. Trois maisons patriciennes situées en face du musée dans la rue Wiltheim, acquises et  aménagées dans les années 1960 et 1970, restent à l'écart du projet de restructuration de 2002. Cette Aile Wiltheim sera rénovée de 2012 à 2014, offrant au final environ 1500 m2 de surface d'exposition supplémentaire ainsi que deux nouveaux ateliers pour le service éducatif du musée. Une passerelle à deux niveaux, entièrement vitrée, relie dorénavant le bâtiment central à l'Aile Wiltheim et permet une meilleure circulation pour les visiteurs.

 

Dimanche: 10:00-18:00
Lundi: Closed
Mardi: 10:00-18:00
Mercredi: 10:00-18:00
Jeudi: 10:00-20:00
Vendredi: 10:00-18:00
Samedi: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Adultes
  • 5.00EUR
    Tarif réduit
  • 0.00EUR
    Exposition permanente
  • 0.00EUR
    Jeudi, 17:00-20:00
 

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°9 / N°14 / N°20 (Um Bock), N°19 / N°31 (Gruef/Kasinosgaass)

  • Vel'OH!

    N°14 (Knuedler), N°15 (Theater Plaz)

  • Voiture

    Parking Théâtre

Programme au Musée national d’histoire et d’art