MNHA – NATIONAL MUSEUM OF HISTORY AND ART

In the heart of the old town, a central building (2002) and three ancient houses are home to the national archaeological, historical and artistic collections of Luxembourg. Presented in the form of various newly designed thematic tours, they are a cultural attraction not to be missed. Diverse temporary exhibitions complete the offer.

Permanent Collections

Since 2015, the MNHA offers five thematic tours:

Prologue - A short overview of the history of the country and the museum from 1839 to the present day.

Archaeology - The highlights of Luxembourg's archaeological heritage, from prehistoric times to the end of the Middle Ages.

Arts and Crafts - From Mansfeld to Design: Habitat and Applied Arts in Luxembourg from the Renaissance to the 21st Century.

Fine Arts - The collections of ancient art (12th-19th century), modern and contemporary art (20th-21st century) as well as Luxembourgish art (17th-21st century).

Coins and Medals - The monetary and economic history of our regions from Antiquity to the present day.

Temporary Exhibitions

Supports/Surfaces: Viallat & Saytour. Modern french painting from the MNHA
Until 24 October 2021

One of the strengths of the MNHA’s collection of international art is the ensemble of paintings by Supports/Surfaces, an artistic movement from 1966-1972 which helped to shape contemporary French art, both in painting and sculpture.

The MNHA holds one of the most important public collections of Supports Surfaces at European level. It was carefully built up over many years, and is still actively strengthened with donations and purchases. In this exhibition important acquisitions from recent years are shown, focusing on works by two founding members of the Supports/Surfaces movement: Patrick Saytour (b.1935) and Claude Viallat (b.1936).

 

Robert Brandy. A personal retrospective on a 50-year career

Until 28 November 2021

With this exhibition, the MNHA invites visitors to explore half a century of work by this popular and well-known Luxembourg artist. In his early career, Brandy quickly made a name for himself in the art world, not least because he was determined to achieve something almost unheard of in 1970s Luxembourg: to make his passion his profession and make a living from his art in his own country. Establishing himself as an independent self-employed artist turned him into something of a renowned figure and, without Brandy even knowing it, he was to pave the way for other artists to follow in his footsteps. The purpose of this MNHA exhibition is two-fold: Firstly, it showcases Brandy’s long career (1971-2021) through a selection of works – some of them previously unseen by the public – which demonstrates how his artistic expression has developed over time. Visitors can explore how his career has progressed and how his artistic language has evolved from his early career to the present day. Secondly, the exhibition highlights Brandy’s role in Luxembourg’s art history as a pioneer in promoting art as a freelance occupation at a pivotal moment in the development of the country’s arts sector.

 

Rethinking Landscape – 8th European Month of Photography 

Until 17 October 2021

Landscape representations have a long and rich history in art. With the development of the Land Art movement, at the beginning of the 1970s, landscape scenes radically changed paradigm. By becoming a medium, the landscape is no longer used by the artist as a subject in itself, but is physically experienced as part of the artistic practice. Through new contemporary representations of the analog and digital image, young European photographers nowadays raise awareness of the increasingly unbalanced relationship between man and nature in their work. Rethinking Landscape presents five stances of artists taking a new photographic look at landscape representation and offering new aesthetic approaches, varying between fiction, sublimation and distancing

Architecture

In 1922, the Luxembourg State acquired the Collart-de-Scherf house on the Fish Market to accommodate the national collections. However, the transformations only advanced slowly and the museum, that was to be inaugurated in 1939, was only able to open its doors after the War, in 1945. Fifty years later, the first edition of Luxembourg, European Capital of Culture, clearly demonstrated that the central building of the Museum had become too small to allow its activities and its collections to develop further. The MNHA restructuring project was then entrusted to the Fonds de rénovation de la Vieille Ville. Positioned at the heart of the historic center in an UNESCO-classified area, the extension of the museum, entrusted to the architect Christian Bauer and associates, turned out to be a difficult task. After extensive renovations, the new central building was finally inaugurated in 2002. Its premises now meet contemporary requirements and double the museum's exhibition space, which thus increases from 1900 m2 to 4300 m2, the new additional exhibition rooms being installed under the refurbished square of the fish market. Three patrician houses located opposite the museum in the Wiltheim street, acquired and fitted out in the 1960s and 1970s, were excluded from the 2002 restructuring project. The Wiltheim Wing was renovated from 2012 to 2014, eventually offering around 1,500 m2 of additional exhibition space as well as two new workshops for the museum's educational service. A two-level, fully glazed footbridge now connects the central building to the Wiltheim Wing and allows a significant improvement in circulation and visitor flow.

 

Sunday: 10:00-18:00
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10:00-18:00
Wednesday: 10:00-18:00
Thursday: 10:00-20:00
Friday: 10:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Adults
  • 5.00EUR
    Reduced
  • 0.00EUR
    Permanent exhibition
  • 0.00EUR
    Thursdays, 17:00-20:00
 

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°9 / N°14 / N°20 (Um Bock), N°19 / N°31 (Gruef/Kasinosgaass)

  • Vel'OH!

    N°14 (Knuedler), N°15 (Theater Plaz)

  • Car

    Parking Théâtre

Programme at National Museum of History and Art

MNHA – NATIONALMUSEUM FÜR GESCHICHTE UND KUNST

Im Herzen der Altstadt beherbergen ein zentrales Gebäude (2002) und drei alte Häuser die nationalen archäologischen, historischen und künstlerischen Sammlungen Luxemburgs. Präsentiert in Form von neu gestalteten thematischen Rundgängen, stellen sie eine kulturelle Attraktion dar, die man nicht verpassen sollte. Unterschiedliche Wechselausstellungen runden das Angebot ab.

Dauerausstellungen

Seit 2015 bietet das MNHA fünf thematische Rundgänge an:

Prolog – Ein Überblick über die Geschichte des Landes und des Museums von 1839 bis heute.

Archäologie - Die Schätze des archäologischen Kulturgutes Luxemburgs, von der Vorgeschichte bis zum Ende des Mittelalters.

Kunsthandwerk und Volkskunst - Von Mansfeld bis Design: Wohnkultur und angewandte Kunst in Luxemburg von der Renaissance bis zum 21. Jahrhundert.

Schöne Künste - Die Sammlungen der alten Meister (12.-19. Jahrhundert), der modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunst (20.-21. Jahrhundert) sowie der luxemburgischen Kunst (17.-21. Jahrhundert).

Münzen und Medaillen - Die Geld- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte unserer Regionen von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart.

Sonderausstellungen

Supports/Surfaces: Viallat & Saytour. Moderne französische Malerei aus dem MNHA.
Bis zum 24. Oktober 2021

Eine der Stärken der internationalen Kunstsammlung des MNHA ist das Gemäldeensemble von Supports/Surfaces, einer künstlerischen Bewegung, die von 1966 bis 1972 die zeitgenössische französische Kunst sowohl in der Malerei als auch in der Bildhauerei geprägt hat.

Das MNHA besitzt eine der wichtigsten öffentlichen Sammlungen von Supports/Surfaces Werken europaweit. Sie wurde über viele Jahre hinweg aufgebaut und wird auch heute noch aktiv durch Schenkungen und Ankäufe erweitert. In dieser Ausstellung werden wichtige Neuerwerbungen der letzten Jahre gezeigt, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf Werken von zwei Gründungsmitgliedern der Supports/Surfaces-Bewegung liegt: Patrick Saytour (geb. 1935) und Claude Viallat (geb. 1936).

 

Robert Brandy im Angesicht seiner selbst. Rückblick auf 50 Jahre Karriere

Bis zum 28. November 2021

Mit der Ausstellung Robert Brandy im Angesicht seiner selbst blickt das Nationalmuseum für Geschichte und Kunst auf ein halbes Jahrhundert künstlerischen Schaffens des ebenso beliebten wie anerkannten luxemburgischen Künstlers zurück. In der Kunstwelt konnte sich Brandy zu Beginn seiner Karriere schon bald einen Namen machen, wobei ein für die luxemburgischen Verhältnisse der 1970er Jahre außergewöhnlicher Entschluss eine Rolle spielte: die Entscheidung, seine Leidenschaft zu seinem Beruf zu machen und in seinem Land von seiner Kunst zu leben. Durch seinen Status als freischaffender und unabhängiger Künstler schaffte Brandy seinen eigenen Mythos und ebnete zugleich unbewusst den Weg für andere Künstler. Die Ausstellung im MNHA widmet sich zwei Aspekten: einerseits wird der Umfang von Brandys Karriere dargestellt (1971-2021). Eine repräsentative Auswahl von zum Teil noch nicht öffentlich gezeigten Werken vermittelt seine künstlerische Entwicklung. Der Besucher kann Brandys Werdegang sowie die Entfaltung seiner Formensprache von ihren Anfängen bis heute nachvollziehen. Andererseits veranschaulicht die Ausstellung auch die Stellung Brandys in der luxemburgischen Kunstgeschichte als einer der Pioniere der Professionalisierung in einer Zeit, die von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Entwicklung des Kunstsektors war.

 

Rethinking Landscape – 8th European Month of Photography 

Bis zum 17. Oktober 2021

Landschaftsdarstellungen haben eine lange und reiche Tradition in der Kunstgeschichte. Im Kontext der Land Art erfuhren sie in den frühen 1970er Jahren einen radikalen Paradigmenwechsel. Indem sie über das Subjekt hinaus zum Medium wurden, öffneten sich auch die Landschaftsrepräsentationen ästhetischen Erlebnissen und künstlerischem Experimentieren. Heute vertieft die junge europäische Fotografie das Bewusstsein für ein zunehmend unausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und Natur durch neue zeitgenössische Darstellungen des analogen und digitalen Bildes. Rethinking Landscape (Die Landschaft neu denken) zeigt Positionen von fünf Künstlern, die einen neuen fotografischen Blick auf Landschaftsdarstellungen werfen und originelle und vielfältige ästhetische Ansätze zwischen Fiktion, Sublimierung und Distanzierung zeigen.

Architektur

1922 erwarb der Luxemburger Staat das Haus Collart-de-Scherf auf dem Fischmarkt mit dem Ziel die nationalen Sammlungen dort beherbergen zu können. Doch die Umbauten kamen nur langsam voran und das Museum, das 1939 eingeweiht werden sollte, konnte erst nach dem Krieg 1945 seine Türen öffnen. Fünfzig Jahre später, mit der ersten Ausgabe von Luxemburg, Kulturhauptstadt Europas, zeigte sich deutlich, dass das Zentralgebäude des Museums zu klein geworden war, um seine Aktivitäten und seine Sammlungen weiter entfalten zu können. Das Umstrukturierungsprojekt des MNHA wurde dann dem Fonds de rénovation de la Vieille Ville anvertraut. Im Herzen der Altstadt in einem von der UNESCO klassifizierten Stadtteil gestaltete sich die dem Architekten Christian Bauer anvertraute Erweiterung des Museums allerdings als schwierig. Nach umfangreichen Arbeiten wurde der neue Zentralbau im Jahre 2002 endlich eingeweiht. Seine Räumlichkeiten entsprechen nun den Ansprüchen der Zeit und verdoppeln die Ausstellungsfläche des Museums, die sich damit von 1900 m2 auf 4300 m2 vergrößert. Die neuen zusätzlichen Ausstellungsräume befinden sich größtenteils unter dem sanierten Platz des Fischmarkts.  Die drei dem Museum gegenüberliegenden Patrizierhäuser in der Wiltheimstraße, die in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren erworben und ausgebaut wurden, blieben bei dem Sanierungsprojekt 2002 außen vor. Der Wiltheim Flügel wurde von 2012 bis 2014 saniert und bietet schlussendlich rund 1.500 m2 zusätzliche Ausstellungsfläche sowie zwei neue Räume für den museumspädagogischen Dienst. Eine zweigeschossige, vollverglaste Brücke verbindet nun das Zentralgebäude mit dem Wiltheim Flügel und ermöglicht einen besseren Zugang und mehr Bewegungsfreiheit für die Besucher.

 

Sonntag: 10:00-18:00
Montag: Closed
Dienstag: 10:00-18:00
Mittwoch: 10:00-18:00
Donnerstag: 10:00-20:00
Freitag: 10:00-18:00
Samstag: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Erwachsene
  • 5.00EUR
    Ermäßigter Tarif
  • 0.00EUR
    Dauerausstellung
  • 0.00EUR
    Donnerstags, 17:00-20:00
 

Marché-aux-Poissons
L-2345 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°9 / N°14 / N°20 (Um Bock), N°19 / N°31 (Gruef/Kasinosgaass)

  • Vel'OH!

    N°14 (Knuedler), N°15 (Theater Plaz)

  • Auto

    Parkhaus Théâtre

Programm des Nationalmuseums für Geschichte und Kunst