CASINO LUXEMBOURG – CONTEMPORARY ART CENTRE

Ideally located in the heart of the capital, the Casino Luxembourg holds contemporary art exhibitions with an international programme of mainly younger-generation artists. The art centre houses public spaces with a variety of uses and vocations, combining today’s art with a warm and friendly meeting place: the ground floor, next to a bookshop and a library specialising in contemporary art, has an area dedicated to learning activities and a café-restaurant. The first floor is exclusively used for temporary exhibitions, so artists’ monographs and themed exhibitions are shown here. These are completed by a varied programme of guided tours, conferences, concerts, and workshops.

Permanent display

As a contemporary art centre, Casino Luxembourg is dedicated exclusively to today’s art and focuses on artistic production, not on the collection of works of art. However, certain artworks – some of them very discreet – have embedded themselves into the building and its environs over the years. Some of them subsequently vanished beneath coats of paint or were victims of sundry renovations. Other clearly luckier ones have survived. Such is the case with Nedko Solakov’s A Wise Thought in a Circle and Jacques Charlier’s La Surface de l’Art. Still other works were specially commissioned for exhibition, which is the case with Zeitgeist: Karl Cobain by Claudia Passeri, Beautiful Steps #10 by Lang/Baumann, and Zäit Wuert by the artist collective LAb[au]. All these works are now part of Casino Luxembourg’s permanent display.

Temporary exhibitions

Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron – Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops
25.09.2021 – 30.01.2022
Curator: Kevin Muhlen

Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops, a multimedia exhibition by Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron. It is based on and merges with contemporary poetry to express current affairs in the world, and its history and myths. Myths and abstraction here represent a parallel world through which we can explain even the most impactful stories and facts to ourselves. A world in which we feel and which perhaps allows us to be part of a human community.

Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron’s collaborative work since 2013 creates links between film, visual arts and theatre. The individual person at the centre is part of a human community, oscillating between resignation and hope.

Karolina Markiewicz studied political science, philosophy and theatre and works as an artist, a film and a theatre director. Pascal Piron studied visual arts and works as an artist and film director. Both also work as teachers with high school students with an immigrant background or in exile. Karolina also teaches at the University of Lorraine. Their artistic work ranges from documentary and fictional cinema to virtual reality films, from writing, painting, photography, and theatre and performance. The artistic techniques used are essential and vary according to the topics covered and the stories told.

Architecture

The “Casino Bourgeois” was built in a central area of the capital by architects Pierre Kemp and Pierre Funck from 1880 to 1882. It soon became a cultural and social hotspot in the city of Luxembourg. In the middle of the 20th century, the State purchased the building and rented it out to the Cultural Circle of the European Communities, founded in 1954. The Casino Luxembourg, hereafter called the “European Foyer”, will remain until the end of 1990 the centre of cultural and social events of the European Community in Luxembourg. During the preparations for Luxembourg, European Cultural Capital 1995, the transformation of the former “Casino Bourgeois” into an exhibition venue was entrusted to Urs Raussmüller. In March 1996, three months after the end of the cultural year in Luxembourg in 1995, the Casino Luxembourg became what it is today: a Contemporary Art Forum.

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in 2016, the public spaces on the ground floor and the exhibition rooms on the first floor have been redesigned. Today the art centre houses public spaces with various uses and vocations, combining today’s art with a warm and friendly meeting place.

 

Architect(s)

The Casino was built in 1882 by Luxembourg architects Pierre Kemp and Pierre Funck. In 1959, Luxembourg architect René Mailliet had built the glass and steel pavilion onto the building’s south front, known today as the “Aquarium”. In 1995, the architect Urs Raussmüller transformed the “Casino Bourgeois” into an exhibition space and incorporated the white cubes into it without affecting the historical substance of the building.

The architect Claudine Kaell was entrusted with the mission of the architectural transformation of the Casino’s ground floor in 2016. Her project provided for a more pragmatic and more fluid reorganization of the interior spaces and better accessibility for the public (with an additional entrance on the Boulevard Roosevelt side). The ground floor has a redesigned reception area next to the existing library, exhibition spaces, educational activities space, and a restaurant.

 

Sunday: 11:00-19:00
Monday: 11:00-19:00
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 11:00-19:00
Thursday: 11:00-21:00
Friday: 11:00-19:00
Saturday: 11:00-19:00

01.1 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 0.00EUR
    Free admission
 

41, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus / Tram

    Hamilius

  • Vel'OH!

    N°12 (Ënneschtgaass), N°13 (Gëlle Fra)

  • Car

    Parking Hamilius

Programme at Casino Luxembourg

CASINO LUXEMBOURG – KUNSTZENTRUM FÜR ZEITGENÖSSISCHE KUNST

Das internationale Ausstellungsprogramm des zentral in der luxemburgischen Hauptstadt gelegenen Casino Luxembourg steht ganz im Zeichen der Gegenwartskunst und ist vor allem jungen Künstler*innen gewidmet. Das Kunstzentrum verfügt über diverse, vielseitig nutzbare und wandlungsfähige öffentliche Bereiche, die es zu einem einladenden und kommunikativen Ort der Kunst machen: Im Erdgeschoss befinden sich neben einer auf die Gegenwartskunst spezialisierten Bibliothek und einer Buchhandlung, ein Raum für pädagogische Angebote und ein Café-Restaurant. Die erste Etage ist den wechselnden monografischen oder thematischen Ausstellungen des Forums vorbehalten. Ergänzt wird das Programm durch Führungen, Vorträge, Konzerte und Workshops.

Permanente Werke

Als Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst widmet sich das Casino Luxembourg ausschließlich dem zeitgenössischen Schaffen und konzentriert sich auf die künstlerische Produktion und nicht auf die Sammlung von Kunstwerken. Im Laufe der Jahre jedoch, haben sich bestimmte Werke, einige davon nahezu unbemerkt, ins Innerste des Gebäudes und drum herum eingeschlichen. Einige sind seither unter mehreren Farbanstrichen verschwunden oder diversen Neugestaltungen zum Opfer gefallen. Andere hatten offensichtlich mehr Glück und sind geblieben, darunter A Wise Thought in a Circle von Nedko Solakov oder La Surface de l’Art von Jacques Charlier. Wieder andere wurden speziell in Auftrag gegeben, um gezeigt zu werden, so wie Zeitgeist: Karl Cobain von Claudia Passeri, Beautiful Steps #10von Lang/Baumann oder auch Zäit Wuert des Künstlerkollektivs LAb[au]. Sie alle sind heutzutage Teil der permanenten „Sammlung“ des Casino Luxembourg.

Sonderausstellungen

Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron – Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops
25.09.2021 – 30.01.2022
Kurator: Kevin Muhlen

Die Multimedia-Ausstellung Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops von Karolina Markiewicz und Pascal Piron basiert auf zeitgenössischer Poesie und verschmilzt mit dieser, um aktuelle Ereignisse in der Welt, aber auch deren Geschichte und Mythen auszudrücken. Mythen und Abstraktionen stellen hier eine Parallelwelt dar, durch die wir uns auch die eindrucksvollsten Geschichten und Fakten erklären können. Eine Welt, in der wir fühlen und die es uns vielleicht erlaubt, Teil einer menschlichen Gemeinschaft zu sein. 

Die Zusammenarbeit von Karolina Markiewicz und Pascal Piron seit 2013 schafft Verbindungen zwischen Film, bildender Kunst und Theater. Im Zentrum steht das Individuum als Teil einer menschlichen Gemeinschaft, die zwischen Vergänglichkeit, Resignation und Hoffnung oszilliert.

Karolina Markiewicz hat Politikwissenschaft, Philosophie und Theater studiert und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Film- und Theaterregisseurin. Pascal Piron hat bildende Kunst studiert und arbeitet als Künstler und Filmregisseur. Beide arbeiten auch als Lehrer mit GymnasiastInnen mit Migrationshintergrund oder im Exil. Karolina lehrt auch an der Universität Lothringen. Die künstlerische Arbeit der beiden reicht von Dokumentar- und Spielfilm bis hin zu Virtual-Reality-Filmen, von Schreiben, Malerei, Fotografie bis hin zu Theater und Performance. Die jeweils verwendeten künstlerischen Techniken sind wichtig und variieren je nach behandelten Themen und den zu erzählenden Geschichten.

Architektur

Das Gebäude des heutigen Casino Luxembourg wurde 1882 von Pierre Kemp und Pierre Funck erbaut. Früher „Casino Bourgeois“ genannt, entwickelte sich das Casino schnell zu einem beliebten Zentrum des kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Lebens in der Hauptstadt. Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts kaufte der Staat das Gebäude und vermietete es an den Kulturkreis der Europäischen Gemeinschaften. Das Casino, fortan „Foyer Européen“ genannt, bleibt bis Ende 1990 das Zentrum der kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Veranstaltungen der Europäischen Gemeinschaften in Luxemburg. Im Rahmen der Vorbereitungen für Luxemburg, Kulturstadt Europas 1995, wurde Urs Raussmüller die Umwandlung des ehemaligen „Casino Bourgeois“ in eine Ausstellungsstätte anvertraut. Im März 1996, drei Monate nach dem Ende des Kulturjahres 1995 in Luxemburg, wurde das Casino Luxembourg zu dem, was es heute ist: ein Forum für zeitgenössische Kunst.

Anlässlich des 20-jährigen Jubiläums des Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain im Jahr 2016 wurden die öffentlichen Räume im Erdgeschoss und die Ausstellungsräume im ersten Obergeschoss neugestaltet. Das Kunstzentrum verfügt heute über diverse, vielseitig nutzbare und wandlungsfähige öffentliche Bereiche, die es zu einem einladenden und kommunikativen Ort der Kunst machen.

 

Architekt(en)

Das Casino wurde 1882 von den luxemburgischen Architekten Pierre Kemp und Pierre Funck erbaut. 1959 ließ der luxemburgische Architekt René Mailliet den Glas-Stahl-Pavillon an der Südfassade des Gebäudes errichten, das heute als „Aquarium“ bekannt ist. 1995 hatte der Architekt Urs Raussmüller die Aufgabe, das „Casino Bourgeois“ in eine Ausstellungsstätte zu verwandeln und die White Cubes in diese einzubauen, ohne die historische Bausubstanz zu beeinträchtigen.

Die von Claudine Kaell geplante Neugestaltung des Casino im Jahre 2016, anläßlich des zwanzigjährigen Bestehens des Forum d‘art contemporain, sorgt dank des pragmatischen architektonischen Konzepts für eine fließendere Organisation der Innenräume und erleichtert (mit einem zusätzlichen Eingang am Boulevard Roosevelt) den Zugang zum Gebäude. Das Erdgeschoss erhält neben der bestehenden Bibliothek einen komplett neu gestalteten Empfangsbereich, Ausstellungsräume, ein Raum für Bildungsaktivitäten sowie ein Restaurant.

 

Sonntag: 11:00-19:00
Montag: 11:00-19:00
Dienstag: Closed
Mittwoch: 11:00-19:00
Donnerstag: 11:00-21:00
Freitag: 11:00-19:00
Samstag: 11:00-19:00

01.1 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 0.00EUR
    Eintritt frei
 

41, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus / Tram

    Hamilius

  • Vel'OH!

    N°12 (Ënneschtgaass), N°13 (Gëlle Fra)

  • Auto

    Parkhaus Hamilius

Programm des Casino Luxembourg