MUDAM LUXEMBOURG – THE CONTEMPORARY ART MUSEUM OF LUXEMBOURG

Mudam Luxembourg opened in 2006 in a purpose-built building designed by the renowned Sino-American architect Ieoh Ming Pei and is located in the Park Dräi Eechelen. Through its collection, exhibitions, programmes and partnerships, Mudam aims to collect, present and make accessible the most relevant art of our times, for the largest public possible.

Permanent collections

Resolutely international in its scope and ambition, the holdings of the Mudam Collection consist of close to 700 works of art in all media by artists from Luxembourg and around the world. A small nucleus of the collection consists of fashion and design objects. Over 54 works are the result of commissions by Mudam for its distinctive architectural context. The constitution of the collection traces back to the first acquisitions for the museum in the 1990s, the creation of the Museum of Modern Art Grand-Duc Jean Foundation in 1998, and the opening of the Museum in 2006. While the decade of the 1960s serves as an historic point of reference for contemporary art, the majority of works in the collection date from 1989 to the present. An exception to this historical span is the ensemble of furniture for the Paimio Sanatorium, designed between 1931 and 1933 by the architect Alvar Aalto, and acquired in 2002.

Temporary exhibitions

25 years of the Mudam Collection
21 Nov 2020 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Post Capital: A Screening. Mudam Collection Online Screening Programme
02 Oct 2021 – 16 Jan. 2022

 

Nedko Solakov. A Cornered Solo Show #1
09 Oct 2021 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Leonor Antunes. joints, voids and gaps
10 Oct 2020 – 14 Nov 2021

 

Post-Capital: Art and the Economics of the Digital Age. Group exhibition
02 Oct 2021 – 16 Jan 2022

 

The Illusion of the End. Mudam Performance Season
02 – 17 Oct 2021

 

mirror mirror: cultural reflections in fashion. Collection presentation
30 Oct 2021 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Freigeister. Fragments of an art scene in Luxembourg and beyond. Group exhibition
11 Nov 2021 – 27 Feb 2022

Architecture

Mudam was designed by Sino-American and Pritzker Prize winning architect Ieoh Ming Pei. The architecture of the museum is intended as a dialogue between the natural and historical context of its site. In its orientation it represents a link between the past (the former Fort Thüngen and the historic city of Luxembourg), the present and the future (the European district of Kirchberg). With its neighbouring cultural institutions that include the Musée Dräi Eechelen, the Philharmonic Concert Hall by Christian de Portzamparc, and the Place de l’Europe by Ricardo Bofill, Mudam is an iconic architectural landmark of Luxembourg City.

 

The building is spread over three levels of 4,000 m2 of surface area dedicated to the museum's exhibitions and collection. The simple volumes and generous spaces and the play between interior and exterior with views onto the surrounding Park Dräi Eechelen are covered with an audacious glass canopy. I. M. Pei's use of the honey-coloured limestone known as Magny Doré endows the building with a distinctive luminosity animated by subtle plays of light and shadows across the day and the seasons.

 

The Park Dräi Eechelen was designed by landscape architect Michel Desvigne, for which he was awarded the Luxembourg Prize for Architecture in 2011. Desvigne’s design is distinguished by its minimalist composition of trees and paving that gently slopes from the urban Place de l'Europe to the natural surroundings of the historical Fort Thüngen.

 

Sunday: 10:00-18:00
Monday: 10:00-18:00
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 10:00-21:00
Thursday: 10:00-18:00
Friday: 10:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-18:00

25.12

 

  • 8.00EUR
    Adults
  • 5.00EUR
    reduced
  • 0.00EUR
    Wednesday, 18:00-21:00
 

3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg
 

  • Bus

    Rout Bréck-Pafendall

  • Tram

    Philharmonie/Mudam

  • Funicular

    Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg

  • Vel'OH!

    N°19 (Philharmonie)

  • Car

    Parking Trois Glands

Programme at Mudam Luxembourg

MUDAM LUXEMBOURG – DAS ZEITGENÖSSISCHE KUNSTMUSEUM IN LUXEMBOURG

Das Mudam Luxemburg wurde im Jahr 2006 in einem eigens hierfür von dem renommierten chinesisch-amerikanischen Architekten Ieoh Ming Pei konzipierten Gebäude im Park Dräi Eechelen eröffnet. Mit seiner Sammlung, seinen Ausstellungen, seinem Programm und seinen Partnerschaften verfolgt das Mudam das Ziel, die bedeutendste Kunst unserer Zeit zu sammeln, zu präsentieren, und diese dem größtmöglichen Publikum zugänglich zu machen.

Dauerausstellungen

Inhaltlich wie konzeptuell konsequent international, umfasst die Mudam Sammlung beinahe 700 Werke aller Medien von Künstlern aus Luxemburg und der ganzen Welt. Dabei besteht ein kleiner Teil der Sammlung aus Mode- und Designobjekten. Über 54 Werke in der Sammlung waren Auftragsarbeiten für das Mudam und entstanden unter Berücksichtigung seiner spezifischen architektonischen Gegebenheiten. Eckdaten für den Sammlungsaufbau waren die ersten Erwerbungen in den 1990er-Jahren, die Gründung des Museums 1998 und seine Eröffnung 2006. Wenngleich die 1960er-Jahre als historischer Bezugspunkt für die Gegenwartskunst gelten, datiert die Mehrzahl der Werke in der Sammlung aus den Jahren 1989 bis heute. Eine Ausnahme bildet das Möbelensemble für das Paimio-Sanatorium, welches zwischen 1931 und 1933 von dem Architekten Alvar Aalto entworfen und 2002 durch das Mudam erworben wurde.

Sonderausstellungen

25 years of the Mudam Collection
21 Nov 2020 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Post Capital: A Screening. Mudam Collection Online Screening Programme
02 Oct 2021 – 16 Jan. 2022

 

Nedko Solakov. A Cornered Solo Show #1
09 Oct 2021 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Leonor Antunes. joints, voids and gaps
10 Oct 2020 – 14 Nov 2021

 

Post-Capital: Art and the Economics of the Digital Age. Group exhibition
02 Oct 2021 – 16 Jan 2022

 

The Illusion of the End. Mudam Performance Season
02 – 17 Oct 2021

 

mirror mirror: cultural reflections in fashion. Collection presentation
30 Oct 2021 – 18 Apr 2022

 

Freigeister. Fragments of an art scene in Luxembourg and beyond. Group exhibition
11 Nov 2021 – 27 Feb 2022

Architektur

Das Mudam wurde vom Architekten und Pritzker-Preisträger Ieoh Ming Pei entworfen. Das Museum stellt einen Dialog her zwischen der Natur seiner Umgebung und der Geschichte seines Standortes und stellt eine Verbindung her zwischen Vergangenheit (das Fort Thüngen und die Altstadt), Gegenwart und Zukunft (der europäische Stadtteil Kirchberg). Seine Nähe zum Musée Dräi Eechelen (Innenarchitektur von Jean-Michel Wilmotte), zur Philharmonie von Christian de Portzamparc und zur Place de l'Europe von Ricardo Bofill macht aus dem gesamten Areal ein Highlight zeitgenössischer Architektur in der Stadt Luxemburg.

 

Das Mudam verfügt auf drei Etagen über 4.000 m2 Ausstellungsfläche. Einfache Volumina, großzügig geschnittene Räume und das raffinierte Spiel zwischen Innen und Außen erlauben vielfältige Ausblicke durch die kühnen Glasdächer auf den umliegenden Park wie auch auf die Weite des Himmels. Die meisterhafte Arbeit von I. M. Pei wird noch betont durch die Verwendung des Magny Doré, eines honigfarbenen Kalksteins, der das Licht zu jeder Tages- und Jahreszeit in subtilen Nuancen wiedergibt.

 

Das Museum liegt im Park Dräi Eechelen, der von dem Landschaftsarchitekten Michel Desvigne entworfen wurde und 2011 den Luxembourg Architecture Prize erhielt. Das Projekt zeichnet sich durch nur minimale Eingriffe aus und durch seinen allmählichen subtilen Übergang von der urbanen Place de l'Europe zur natürlicheren Umgebung des historischen Fort Thüngen.

 

Mit seinen zahlreichen Werken zeitgenössischer Kunst und in unmittelbarer Nähe zu beeindruckenden Beispielen außergewöhnlicher Architektur bildet der Park Dräi Eechelen den Eingang zum europäischen Viertel.

 

Sonntag: 10:00-18:00
Montag: 10:00-18:00
Dienstag: Closed
Mittwoch: 10:00-21:00
Donnerstag: 10:00-18:00
Freitag: 10:00-18:00
Samstag: 10:00-18:00

25.12

 

  • 8.00EUR
    Erwachsene
  • 5.00EUR
    Ermäßigter Tarif
  • 0.00EUR
    Mittwochs, 18:00-21:00
 

3, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg
 

  • Bus

    Rout Bréck-Pafendall

  • Tram

    Philharmonie/Mudam

  • Funicular

    Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg

  • Vel'OH!

    N°19 (Philharmonie)

  • Auto

    Parkhaus Trois Glands

Programm des Mudam Luxembourg