VILLA VAUBAN – LUXEMBOURG CITY ART MUSEUM

The 1873 mansion with its modern extension is located in a historic park. The collections are made up of European painting and sculpture from the 17th to the 19th century (Netherlands, France, Italy) and Luxembourg art from the 19th to the 21st century. Permanent and temporary exhibitions as well as a varied programme of activities await visitors.

Permanent exhibition

A stroll through art. European painting and sculpture, 17th–19th century

With more than 100 paintings and 14 sculptures, Villa Vauban’s permanent exhibition takes visitors on a journey through three centuries of artistic creation: from the 17th-century Netherlands to Italian dreamscapes and French painting around 1850. In addition to styles, art periods and numerous masterpieces, there are small formats and miniatures to discover, as well as the spectacular acquisitions of Jean-Pierre Pescatore, benefactor of the City of Luxembourg, on the occasion of the auction of King William II of the Netherlands’ collection in 1850. The great diversity of subjects and artistic styles is conveyed at the beginning of the tour in the form of an immersive video projection that transports visitors into the atmosphere of the paintings they will discover on their stroll through art.

Temporary exhibitions

“Pour Élise”. The Hack collection and visual arts in Paris during the Belle Époque
03.07. > 10.10.2021

“Pour Élise” is the unusual story of a young Luxembourg emigrant and modest servant who, towards the end of the 19th century, gains access to the Parisian art world. Sharing the life of the famous art historian and critic Henry Havard (1838–1921), Élise Hack, born in 1860 in Echternach, collected some thirty paintings, watercolours, drawings and engravings which she bequeathed to the City of Luxembourg in 1922. The exhibition places both Élise’s life and her collection in their historical and artistic contexts. By presenting additional paintings that had belonged to Henry Havard, it highlights the artistic effervescence in Paris at the time.

 

'Summer of ‘69'. Works by Berthe Lutgen and Misch Da Leiden since the age of revolt
27.11.2021 > 21.05.2022

The exhibition is dedicated to the works of the painter and women's rights activist Berthe Lutgen, born in Esch-sur-Alzette in 1935, and the painter and serigraphist Michel Daleiden, born in Luxembourg in 1948, who lives and works in Düsseldorf under the artist's name 'Misch Da Leiden'. Daleiden joined the Luxembourg Art Working Group at the end of the 1960s, of which Lutgen was a co-founder. Together with other artists, they organised the spectacular "First non-affirmative cooperative exhibition of contemporary art" in 1969 and formed an informal group called Initiative 69. Until the early 1970s, Lutgen and Da Leiden were also connected through the Groupe de Recherche d'Art Politique (GRAP).

These initiatives by Luxembourg artists, now almost forgotten, were part of a global movement that contributed to the replacement of abstraction as the 'world language of art'. The unifying features of this movement were the creation of the most diverse forms of representational or object-like art: Pop Art, Op Art, Concept Art, Neo-Dada, Nouveau Realisme, Hard Edge, Land Art, Kinetics, Body Art or Happening. The 1960s were marked by a climate strongly favouring artistic experimentation. Artists worked in the spirit of an art freed from all fetters. In Luxembourg, the young generation sought to break free from the constraints of the École de Paris as the only representative current of contemporary art.

The show documents the artistic actions of the protest movement in Luxembourg, especially around and with Initiative 69, and at the same time provides an outlook: Based on selected works by Berthe Lutgen and Misch Da Leiden, it deals with two important actors of this movement and shows their artistic development until today. Lutgen and Da Leiden took different paths, both geographically and artistically. In various ways, however, they remained intertwined in their art with the subversive force of the '68s.

Cultural & educational programme September — December 2021

 

Click here to see the programme.

Architecture

Bourgeois villa architecture, in a 21st-century interpretation
The museum was designed to reflect the specificity of its collection of paintings originally acquired by wealthy private collectors in the 18th and 19th century. Its core structure, an urban villa from 1873, was redeveloped under the supervision of architect Philippe Schmit of the Luxembourg-based office Diane Heirend & Philippe Schmit architectes, whose contemporary extension engages in a stimulating architectural dialogue with the historic building.

On solid walls...
The Villa Vauban owes its name to a fort of the former Luxembourg fortress built by the fortress architect of Louis XIV, Sébastien Le Prestre Vauban (1633-1707) which served as the foundation of the later residence. Today an impressive part of the fortress wall of the 18th century can be admired in the basement of the museum.

Relaxing in a historic garden
The museum complex is located in a park designed by the French architect Édouard André (1840-1911), one of the leading landscape planners of his time. Extensive refurbishment works will recover the park's original design, thus allowing visitors to explore historic works of art in a quiet and relaxing setting in the heart of the city.

Awards of  the Villa Vauban
TECU® Architecture Award 2010
Prix Luxembourgeois d'Architecture 2011, Domaine Architecture (ex aequo)

 

Sunday: 10:00-18:00
Monday: 10:00-18:00
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 10:00-18:00
Thursday: 10:00-18:00
Friday: 10:00-21:00
Saturday: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 5.00EUR
    Adults
  • 3.00EUR
    Reduced
  • 0.00EUR
    Fridays, 18:00-21:00
 

18, avenue Émile Reuter
L-2420 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°22 (Place de l'Étoile)

  • Tram

    Place de l'Étoile

  • Vel'OH!

    N° 11 (Winston Churchill), N° 16 (Amélie), N° 28 (Charly's Gare)

  • Car

    Parking Monterey

Programme at Villa Vauban

VILLA VAUBAN – KUNSTMUSEUM DER STADT LUXEMBURG

Die um einen Neubau erweiterte Bürgervilla von 1873 liegt inmitten einer historischen Parkanlage. Die Sammlung umfasst europäische Malerei und Skulptur des 17. bis 19. Jahrhunderts (Niederlande, Frankreich, Italien) sowie Luxemburger Kunst des 19. bis 21. Jahrhunderts. Dauer- und Sonderausstellungen sowie ein abwechslungsreiches Begleitprogramm erwarten die Besucher.

Dauerausstellung

Ein Spaziergang durch die Kunst. Europäische Malerei und Skulptur, 17.-19. Jahrhundert

Mit über 100 Gemälden und 14 Skulpturen nimmt die permanente Ausstellung in der Villa Vauban den Besucher mit auf einen Rundgang durch drei Jahrhunderte künstlerischen Schaffens: von den Niederlanden des 17. Jahrhunderts über die Sehnsuchtsorte Italiens bis hin zur französischen Malerei um die Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Neben Stilen, Kunstepochen und zahlreichen Meisterwerken gibt es Kleinformate und Miniaturen sowie die spektakulären Erwerbungen Jean-Pierre Pescatores, Stifter und Wohltäter der Stadt Luxemburg, anlässlich der Versteigerung der Sammlung König Willems II. der Niederlande 1850 zu sehen. Die große Vielfalt der Sujets und Kunststile wird zu Beginn des Rundgangs in Form einer immersiven Videoprojektion vermittelt, welche die Besucher in die Atmosphäre der Gemälde versetzt, die sie auf ihrem Spaziergang durch die Kunst entdecken werden.

Sonderausstellungen

„Pour Élise“. Die Sammlung Hack und die Kunst in Paris während der Belle Époque
03.07. > 10.10.2021

„Pour Élise“ ist die ungewöhnliche Geschichte einer jungen Luxemburger Auswandererin und einfachen Hausangestellten, die gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts Zugang zur Pariser Kunstszene erhält. Élise Hack, 1860 in Echternach geboren, lebt bei dem bekannten Kunsthistoriker und -kritiker Henry Havard (1838-1921) und sammelt während dieser Zeit ca. 30 Gemälde, Aquarelle, Zeichnungen, Grafiken und Skulpturen, die sie 1922 der Stadt Luxemburg vermacht. Die Ausstellung stellt sowohl Élises Lebensweg wie auch ihre Sammlung in den jeweiligen historischen und kunsthistorischen Kontext. Darüber hinaus zeigt sie Gemälde aus der Sammlung Henry Havards, welche den künstlerischen Reichtum im Paris dieser Epoche unterstreichen.

 

« Summer of ‘69 ». Werke von Berthe Lutgen und Misch Da Leiden seit den Jahren der Revolte
27.11.2021 > 21.05.2022

Die Ausstellung widmet sich den Werken der 1935 in Esch-sur-Alzette geborenen Malerin und Frauenrechtlerin Berthe Lutgen und des 1948 in Luxemburg geborenen Malers und Serigrafisten Michel Daleiden, der unter dem Künstlernamen „Misch Da Leiden“ in Düsseldorf lebt und arbeitet. Daleiden trat Ende der 1960er Jahre die Luxemburger Arbeitsgruppe Kunst bei, deren Mitbegründerin Lutgen war. Zusammen mit anderen Künstlern organisierten sie 1969 die spektakuläre „Erste nichtaffirmative cooperative Ausstellung aktueller Kunst“ und bildeten eine informelle Gruppe mit dem Namen Initiative 69. Bis Anfang der 70er Jahre standen Lutgen und Da Leiden auch über die Groupe de Recherche d’Art Politique (GRAP) in Verbindung.

Diese heute fast vergessenen Initiativen luxemburgischer Künstlerinnen und Künstler waren Teil einer globalen Bewegung, die zur Ablösung der Abstraktion als „Weltsprache der Kunst“ beitrugen. Verbindende Grundzüge dieser Bewegung waren die Kreation unterschiedlichster Formen von abbildender oder objekthafter Kunst: Pop Art, Op Art, Concept Art, Neo-Dada, Nouveau Realisme, Hard Edge, Land Art, Kinetik, Body Art oder Happening. Die 1960er Jahre waren von einem das künstlerische Experimentieren stark begünstigenden Klima geprägt. Künstlerinnen und Künstler arbeiteten im Sinne einer von allen Fesseln befreiten Kunst. In Luxemburg suchte die junge Generation sich dabei vor allem von den Zwängen der École de Paris als einziger repräsentativer Strömung der zeitgenössischen Kunst zu lösen.

Die Schau dokumentiert die künstlerischen Aktionen der Protestbewegung in Luxemburg, insbesondere um und mit der Initiative 69 und gibt gleichzeitig einen Ausblick: Anhand ausgewählter Werke von Berthe Lutgen und Misch Da Leiden beschäftigt sie sich mit zwei wichtigen Akteuren dieser Bewegung und zeigt deren künstlerische Entwicklung bis heute auf. Lutgen und Da Leiden gingen unterschiedliche Wege, sowohl geografisch als auch künstlerisch. Auf diverse Weise blieben sie jedoch in ihrer Kunst mit der subversiven Kraft der 68er Jahre verflochten.

Kultur- und Bildungsprogramm September — Dezember 2021

 

Klicken Sie hier, um das Programm zu sehen.

Architektur

Bürgerliche Villenarchitektur, in einer Interpretation des 21. Jahrhunderts
Die Architektur des Museums spiegelt den historischen Charakter seiner Gemäldesammlungen, die im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert von Privatleuten zusammengestellt wurden. Die repräsentative Stadtvilla von 1873 ist renoviert und um einen Neubau der Architekten Philippe Schmit und Diane Heirend vom Luxemburger Büro Diane Heirend & Philippe Schmit architectes erweitert worden, der in einen spannenden Dialog mit der vorgefundenen Bausubstanz tritt.

Auf soliden Mauern...
Die Villa Vauban hat ihren Namen von einem Fort der ehemaligen Luxemburger Festung, welches von Sébastien Le Prestre Vauban (1633-1707), dem Festungsbaumeister Ludwigs XIV. errichtet und beim Bau des Wohnhauses als Fundament integriert wurde. Heute ist im Untergeschoss  des Museums ein imposantes Stück der Umfassungsmauer dieses Forts aus dem 18. Jahrhundert zu bewundern.

Entspannung in einem historischen Garten
Das Ensemble aus Villa und Neubau befindet sich inmitten eines Parks des französischen Gartenarchitekten Édouard André (1840-1911), einem der führenden Landschaftsplaner seiner Zeit, der in seiner ursprünglichen Gestalt  rekonstruiert wurde. Die Villa Vauban lädt somit dazu ein, Kunst in entspannender Atmosphäre im Herzen der Stadt Luxemburg zu genießen.

Auszeichnungen:
TECU® Architecture Award 2010
Prix Luxembourgeois d'Architecture 2011, Domaine Architecture (ex aequo)

 

Sonntag: 10:00-18:00
Montag: 10:00-18:00
Dienstag: Closed
Mittwoch: 10:00-18:00
Donnerstag: 10:00-18:00
Freitag: 10:00-21:00
Samstag: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 5.00EUR
    Erwachsene
  • 3.00EUR
    Ermäßigter Tarif
  • 0.00EUR
    Freitags, 18:00-21:00
 

18, avenue Émile Reuter
L-2420 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus

    N°22 (Place de l'Étoile)

  • Tram

    Place de l'Étoile

  • Vel'OH!

    N° 11 (Winston Churchill), N° 16 (Amélie), N° 28 (Charly's Gare)

  • Auto

    Parkhaus Monterey

Programm der Villa Vauban