MUSÉE DRÄI EECHELEN – FORTRESS, HISTORY, IDENTITIES

Housed in the restored keep of Fort Thüngen, the Musée Dräi Eechelen is an exceptional historical building with a spectacular network of underground galleries and mines. Beyond the temporary exhibitions, the permanent collection illustrates the history of the fortress of Luxembourg from the Middle Ages to its dismantling.

Permanent exhibition

Each of the casemates in the permanent exhibition illustrates a different era of the fortress and its influence on the country’s history. The tour begins in the Middle Ages with the capture of the city of Luxembourg by the Burgundians in 1443, and ends with the construction of the Pont Adolphe in 1903. More than 600 objects and original documents, many of which have never been shown before, highlight the diversity of the collections. A special room houses a selection of historical photographs which present the fortress immediately before and after it was razed. The historic building of the museum constitutes in itself an important element of the permanent exhibition. With its impressive underground galleries and mines, it corresponds to a large extent to the original condition during the last phase of its expansion in 1836/1837. The visitor is invited to explore important themes of the permanent exhibition through an interactive database and audiovisual documentation in the multimedia room. Free audio guides supply detailed explanations for many objects in French, English, German and Luxembourgish. An auditorium regularly provides the facilities for conferences or screenings in relation to the exhibitions.

Temporary exhibitions

The first floor is dedicated to temporary exhibitions related to History, Fortress, Identities.

 

LÉGIONNAIRES. Parcours de guerre et de migrations entre le Luxembourg et la France
30.06 - 28.11.2021

Architecture

Building
We must go back to the year 1732 to date the construction of Fort Thüngen, when the Austrian authorities decided to strengthen the fortress of Luxembourg. In 1836, then from 1859 to 1860, the fort was modernized and enlarged, this time under the authority of the Prussians. Fort Thüngen, together with Fort Olizy and Fort Parkhöhe, forms the outer ring of the Grünewald front.

 

Architect(s)

After a decade of major work and restoration under the direction of the Service des sites et monuments nationaux, the interior design of the museum was entrusted to the Parisian architect Jean-Michel Wilmotte. The museum furniture was developed in collaboration with the German company König + Ebersbach. The general structure is signed by Becker Architecture & Urbanisme.

 

Sunday: 10:00-18:00
Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10:00-18:00
Wednesday: 10:00-20:00
Thursday: 10:00-18:00
Friday: 10:00-18:00
Saturday: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11. / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Adults
  • 5.00EUR
    Reduced
  • 0.00EUR
    Permanent exhibition
  • 0.00EUR
    Wednesdays, 17:00-20:00
 

5, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg
 

  • Bus

    Rout Bréck-Pafendall

  • Tram

    Philharmonie/Mudam

  • Funicular

    Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg

  • Vel'OH!

    N°19 (Philharmonie)

  • Car

    Parking Trois Glands

Programme at Musée Dräi Eechelen

MUSÉE DRÄI EECHELEN – FESTUNG, GESCHICHTE, IDENTITÄTEN

Das im Reduit des Fort Thüngen untergebrachte Museum Dräi Eechelen ist mit seinem spektakulären Netzwerk unterirdischer Galerien und Minen ein außergewöhnliches historisches Gebäude. Zusätzlich zu den Sonderausstellungen illustriert die Dauersammlung die Geschichte der Festung Luxemburg vom Mittelalter bis zu ihrer Schleifung.

Dauerausstellung

Der Rundgang beginnt im Mittelalter mit der Einnahme der Stadt Luxemburg durch die Burgunder 1443 und endet mit dem Bau der Adolf-Brücke 1903. Über 600 zum großen Teil noch nie gezeigte Objekte und Originaldokumente unterstreichen die Vielfalt der Sammlungen. Ein Sonderraum beherbergt eine Auswahl von historischen Fotografien, welche die Festung unmittelbar vor und während der Schleifung dokumentieren. Der historische Museumsbau ist selbst ein wichtiges Element der Dauerausstellung. Mit seinen beeindruckenden unterirdischen Galerien und Minen entspricht er noch zu einem guten Teil dem Originalzustand der letzten Ausbauphase von 1836/37. Im Multimediaraum können zentrale Themen der Dauerausstellung mittels virtueller Animationen und audiovisueller Dokumentationen vertieft werden. Audioguides mit ausführlichen Erklärungen zu einer Vielzahl von Objekten stehen in deutscher, französischer, englischer und luxemburgischer Sprache gratis zur Verfügung. Im Auditorium werden Filme gezeigt und Konferenzen abgehalten, die im Zusammenhang mit den Themen des Museums stehen.

Sonderausstellungen

Im ersten Stock präsentiert das Museum regelmäßig neue Sonderausstellungen in Verbindung mit den Themen Geschichte, Festung, Identitäten.

 

LÉGIONNAIRES. Parcours de guerre et de migrations entre le Luxembourg et la France
30.06 - 28.11.2021

Architektur

Gebäude

Der Bau des Fort Thüngen geht auf das Jahr 1732 zurück, als die österreichischen Behörden beschlossen, die Festung Luxemburg zu verstärken. 1836 und später, von 1859 bis 1860, wurde das Fort modernisiert und erweitert, diesmal unter preußischer Herrschaft. Fort Thüngen bildet zusammen mit Fort Olizy und Fort Parkhöhe den äußeren Ring der Grünewaldfront.

 

Architekt(en)

Nach einem Jahrzehnt umfassender Arbeiten und Restaurierungen unter der Leitung des Service des Sites et Monuments Nationaux wurde die Innenausstattung des Museums dem Pariser Architekten Jean-Michel Wilmotte anvertraut. Die Innenausstattung des Museums wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der deutschen Firma König + Ebersbach entwickelt. Die Gebäudestruktur trägt die Unterschrift von Becker Architecture & Urbanisme.

 

Sonntag: 10:00-18:00
Montag: Closed
Dienstag: 10:00-18:00
Mittwoch: 10:00-20:00
Donnerstag: 10:00-18:00
Freitag: 10:00-18:00
Samstag: 10:00-18:00

01.01 / 23.06 / 01.11. / 25.12

 

  • 7.00EUR
    Erwachsene
  • 5.00EUR
    Ermäßigter Tarif
  • 0.00EUR
    Dauerausstellung
  • 0.00EUR
    Mittwochs, 17:00-20:00
 

5, Park Dräi Eechelen
L-1499 Luxembourg-Kirchberg
 

  • Bus

    Rout Bréck-Pafendall

  • Tram

    Philharmonie/Mudam

  • Funicular

    Pfaffenthal-Kirchberg

  • Vel'OH!

    N°19 (Philharmonie)

  • Auto

    Parkhaus Trois Glands

Programm des Musée Dräi Eechelen