CASINO LUXEMBOURG – CONTEMPORARY ART CENTRE

Ideally located in the heart of the capital, the Casino Luxembourg holds contemporary art exhibitions with an international programme of mainly younger-generation artists. The art centre houses public spaces with a variety of uses and vocations, combining today’s art with a warm and friendly meeting place: the ground floor, next to a bookshop and a library specialising in contemporary art, has an area dedicated to learning activities and a café-restaurant. The first floor is exclusively used for temporary exhibitions, so artists’ monographs and themed exhibitions are shown here. These are completed by a varied programme of guided tours, conferences, concerts, and workshops.

Permanent display

As a contemporary art centre, Casino Luxembourg is dedicated exclusively to today’s art and focuses on artistic production, not on the collection of works of art. However, certain artworks – some of them very discreet – have embedded themselves into the building and its environs over the years. Some of them subsequently vanished beneath coats of paint or were victims of sundry renovations. Other clearly luckier ones have survived. Such is the case with Nedko Solakov’s A Wise Thought in a Circle and Jacques Charlier’s La Surface de l’Art. Still other works were specially commissioned for exhibition, which is the case with Zeitgeist: Karl Cobain by Claudia Passeri, Beautiful Steps #10 by Lang/Baumann, and Zäit Wuert by the artist collective LAb[au]. All these works are now part of Casino Luxembourg’s permanent display.

Temporary exhibitions

Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron – Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops
25.09.2021 – 30.01.2022
Curator: Kevin Muhlen

Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops, a multimedia exhibition by Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron. It is based on and merges with contemporary poetry to express current affairs in the world, and its history and myths. Myths and abstraction here represent a parallel world through which we can explain even the most impactful stories and facts to ourselves. A world in which we feel and which perhaps allows us to be part of a human community.

Karolina Markiewicz and Pascal Piron’s collaborative work since 2013 creates links between film, visual arts and theatre. The individual person at the centre is part of a human community, oscillating between resignation and hope.

Karolina Markiewicz studied political science, philosophy and theatre and works as an artist, a film and a theatre director. Pascal Piron studied visual arts and works as an artist and film director. Both also work as teachers with high school students with an immigrant background or in exile. Karolina also teaches at the University of Lorraine. Their artistic work ranges from documentary and fictional cinema to virtual reality films, from writing, painting, photography, and theatre and performance. The artistic techniques used are essential and vary according to the topics covered and the stories told.

Architecture

The “Casino Bourgeois” was built in a central area of the capital by architects Pierre Kemp and Pierre Funck from 1880 to 1882. It soon became a cultural and social hotspot in the city of Luxembourg. In the middle of the 20th century, the State purchased the building and rented it out to the Cultural Circle of the European Communities, founded in 1954. The Casino Luxembourg, hereafter called the “European Foyer”, will remain until the end of 1990 the centre of cultural and social events of the European Community in Luxembourg. During the preparations for Luxembourg, European Cultural Capital 1995, the transformation of the former “Casino Bourgeois” into an exhibition venue was entrusted to Urs Raussmüller. In March 1996, three months after the end of the cultural year in Luxembourg in 1995, the Casino Luxembourg became what it is today: a Contemporary Art Forum.

On the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain in 2016, the public spaces on the ground floor and the exhibition rooms on the first floor have been redesigned. Today the art centre houses public spaces with various uses and vocations, combining today’s art with a warm and friendly meeting place.

 

Architect(s)

The Casino was built in 1882 by Luxembourg architects Pierre Kemp and Pierre Funck. In 1959, Luxembourg architect René Mailliet had built the glass and steel pavilion onto the building’s south front, known today as the “Aquarium”. In 1995, the architect Urs Raussmüller transformed the “Casino Bourgeois” into an exhibition space and incorporated the white cubes into it without affecting the historical substance of the building.

The architect Claudine Kaell was entrusted with the mission of the architectural transformation of the Casino’s ground floor in 2016. Her project provided for a more pragmatic and more fluid reorganization of the interior spaces and better accessibility for the public (with an additional entrance on the Boulevard Roosevelt side). The ground floor has a redesigned reception area next to the existing library, exhibition spaces, educational activities space, and a restaurant.

 

Sunday: 11:00-19:00
Monday: 11:00-19:00
Tuesday: Closed
Wednesday: 11:00-19:00
Thursday: 11:00-21:00
Friday: 11:00-19:00
Saturday: 11:00-19:00

01.1 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 0.00EUR
    Free admission
 

41, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus / Tram

    Hamilius

  • Vel'OH!

    N°12 (Ënneschtgaass), N°13 (Gëlle Fra)

  • Car

    Parking Hamilius

Programme at Casino Luxembourg

CASINO LUXEMBOURG – FORUM D’ART CONTEMPORAIN

Idéalement situé au cœur de la capitale, le Casino Luxembourg présente des expositions sur l’art d’aujourd’hui à travers une programmation internationale et en prenant principalement appui sur une jeune génération d’artistes. Le centre d’art abrite des espaces publics à usages et à vocations variés, alliant l’art contemporain à un lieu de rencontre, chaleureux et convivial : le rez-de-chaussée est doté, à côté de salles d’expositions, d’une bibliothèque et d’une librairie spécialisées en art contemporain, d’un espace dédié aux activités pédagogiques et d’un café-restaurant. Le premier étage étant exclusivement affecté aux expositions temporaires, des monographies d’artistes et expositions thématiques y sont proposées. Celles-ci sont complétées par un programme varié de visites guidées, de conférences, de concerts et d’ateliers pour toutes et tous.

Œuvres permanentes

En tant que centre d’art contemporain, le Casino Luxembourg se consacre exclusivement à la création contemporaine et se concentre sur la production artistique et non sur la collection d’œuvres d’art. Toutefois, au fil des années, certaines œuvres, très discrètes pour certaines, sont venues s’immiscer au sein du bâtiment et autour. Certaines ont depuis lors disparu sous des couches de peinture ou ont été victimes de réaménagements divers. D’autres, visiblement plus chanceuses, sont restées. C’est le cas de A Wise Thought in a Circle de Nedko Solakov ou de La Surface de l’Art de Jacques Charlier. D’autres encore ont été commandées spécialement pour être vues. C’est le cas de Zeitgeist: Karl Cobain de Claudia Passeri, de Beautiful Steps #10 de Lang/Baumann ou encore de Zäit Wuert du collectif LAb[au]. Toutes font aujourd’hui partie des œuvres permanentes du Casino Luxembourg.

Expositions temporaires

Karolina Markiewicz & Pascal Piron – Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops
25.09.2021 – 30.01.2022
Commissaire : Kevin Muhlen

Stronger than memory and weaker than dewdrops est une exposition multimédia de Karolina Markiewicz et Pascal Piron. Elle se construit autour de la poésie contemporaine pour exprimer l’actualité du monde mais aussi son histoire, sa mémoire et ses mythes. Les mythes et les abstractions représentent ici un monde parallèle, presque enfantin, à travers lequel il est possible d’expliquer les histoires et les faits, même les plus marquants, même les plus durs. Il s’agit d’un monde violent, fragile et aimant à la fois qui s’exprime à travers ses histoires et ses visions. Un monde qui permet, peut-être, de rester alerte avec une communauté humaine embarquée.

Le travail collaboratif de Karolina Markiewicz et de Pascal Piron depuis 2013 crée des liens entre cinéma, arts visuels et théâtre. Au centre, l’individu fait partie d’une communauté humaine, oscillant entre impermanence, résignation et espoir.

Karolina Markiewicz a étudié les sciences politiques, la philosophie et le théâtre ; elle est artiste et auteure-réalisatrice. Pascal Piron a étudié les arts visuels ; il est artiste et réalisateur. Tous deux travaillent par ailleurs comme enseignants avec des lycéen·nes issu·es de l’immigration ou en exile. Karolina enseigne également à l’Université de Lorraine. Leur travail artistique s’étend du cinéma documentaire et de fiction aux films en réalité virtuelle, en passant par l’écriture, la peinture, la photographie au théâtre et à la performance. Les techniques artistiques utilisées ont leur importance et varient selon les sujets abordés et les histoires à raconter.

Architecture

Le bâtiment de l’actuel Casino Luxembourg fut construit en 1882 par Pierre Kemp et Pierre Funck. Autrefois appelé « Casino Bourgeois », il était un lieu privilégié de la vie culturelle et mondaine de la ville pendant des années. Au milieu du 20e siècle, l’État racheta l’édifice et le loua au Cercle Culturel des Communautés Européennes. Le Casino Luxembourg, désormais appelé « Foyer Européen », restera jusqu’à la fin de l’année 1990 le centre des manifestations culturelles et mondaines de la Communauté Européenne à Luxembourg. Lors des préparatifs de Luxembourg, Ville Européenne de la Culture 1995, la transformation de l’ancien « Casino Bourgeois » en lieu d’exposition fut confiée à Urs Raussmüller. En mars 1996, trois mois après la fin de l’année culturelle à Luxembourg en 1995, le Casino Luxembourg est devenu ce qu’il est aujourd’hui : un Forum d’art contemporain.

À l’occasion du 20e anniversaire du Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’art contemporain en 2016, les espaces publics du rez-de-chaussée et les salles d’exposition situées au premier étage ont été réaménagés. Le Casino Luxembourg est devenu ainsi un lieu de rencontre(s) permettant au public de côtoyer l’art contemporain et de bénéficier d’espaces publics à usages et à vocations variés.

 

Architecte(s)

Le Casino fut construit en 1882 par les architectes luxembourgeois Pierre Kemp et Pierre Funck. En 1959, l’architecte luxembourgeois René Mailliet fait édifier sur la façade sud du bâtiment le pavillon de verre et d’acier, connu aujourd’hui sous le nom d’« Aquarium ». En 1995, Urs Raussmüller avait la tâche de transformer le « Casino Bourgeois » en espace d’exposition et y intégra les white cubes sans toucher à la substance historique du bâtiment.

L’architecte Claudine Kaell s’est vu confier la mission de la transformation architecturale du rez-de-chaussée du Casino en 2016. Son projet prévoyait une réorganisation plus pragmatique et plus fluide des espaces intérieurs, ainsi qu’une meilleure accessibilité pour les publics (avec une entrée supplémentaire du côté du boulevard Roosevelt). Le rez-de-chaussée a été doté, à côté de la bibliothèque existante, d’un espace d’accueil entièrement repensé ; de salles d’exposition ; d’un espace dédié aux activités pédagogiques ainsi que d’un restaurant.

 

Dimanche: 11:00-19:00
Lundi: 11:00-19:00
Mardi: Closed
Mercredi: 11:00-19:00
Jeudi: 11:00-21:00
Vendredi: 11:00-19:00
Samedi: 11:00-19:00

01.1 / 01.11 / 25.12

 

  • 0.00EUR
    Entrée gratuite
 

41, rue Notre-Dame
L-2240 Luxembourg
 

  • Bus / Tram

    Hamilius

  • Vel'OH!

    N°12 (Ënneschtgaass), N°13 (Gëlle Fra)

  • Voiture

    Parking Hamilius

Programme au Casino Luxembourg